Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Howdy all!! New here!!

Hybrid View

Howdy all!! New here!!

Hello,

New here, very happy to find a board on Antidepressants help, etc.

I'm on Effexor since 2001, reasons was some events at my job/familly. I was an airline pilot and had to completely stop flighing because of «legal» raisons FAA/MOT (in Canada). I've tried so many times to withdraw the meds but with no success. Now there is a door opening from Ministry of transports here in Canada as well as in the USA for pilots using those drugs, under certain conditions a pilot could go back flighing using certain type of AD. There are Celexa, Prozac, Millburin, Luvox and EScitalopram, Effexor is not on that list..

I would have the choice to switch meds or better find a way to stop them completely!! I've tried Celexa for 2-3 weeks and lowering the Effexor but it is getting difficult so I decided to stop that and resume with Effexor, that AD works very well with me (no symptoms) but I can't technicaly go back flighing my airplanes.

I think I will try to fight this with MOT as my Dr, pharmacist thinks it is not a good thing to change something that works for an other but at the end I would so much like to stop the meds completly.

cheers
    JF

Welcome, JF!

I’m so sorry you have not been able to fly. That is a big loss.

It would be ideal for your health to stop the antidepressants completely. Eventually, Effexor will not be so good for your health. And, it is very probable that the other antidepressants eventually will be deemed unsafe for pilots.

One possibility is to try tapering very slowly off the Effexor without adding any new medication. This procedure is what we have found to be most effective. It is best to taper ultra-slowly. That allows your body time to adjust to the removal of the medication.

It generally does not work well to lower one antidepressant quickly while adding another one.